September 23, 2016

Weekly Inspiration:

Micah makes breakfast!

by Leslie Burns, Silver Spring Elementary

In my nutrition lessons, we are learning about the food pyramid and healthy snacks.  I taught the kids how to make a scrambled egg in the microwave.  They can add anything to it to make it their own.  Some kids reported adding cheese, peppers and oimage_2nions, salsa and spinach. Here is a letter from Micah Tucker’s Mom:

Mrs. Burns,

I have to say thank you for sharing the coffee-cup egg “recipe” with Micah. He has been making it everyday! He’s had fun mixing in cheese, pre-cooked turkey sausage crumbles and even chopped spinach yesterday! Wow! One day it even turned into a science experiment when he forgot to “scramble” the egg before putting it in the microwave and the yolk exploded. Oops!
Here he is cooking and enjoying his creation! Thanks again!
Buffy Tucker

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

  1.   Please get in this sheet over the next month or so and add things as you think of them.  No deadline yet.
  2. I would like to do the same thing with technology.    This sheet should be used the same way over the next month or so – elementary jump in there too.  I will create the spreadsheets next month sometime.
  3. October 7 Inservice will be at the high school in the LGI room.  Agenda will include some edcamp ideas.  Please consider sharing 15-30 minutes about a topic – think “low hanging fruit” that does not require much preparation.
  4. SECONDARY: Uniforms have been delivered.  Prices are $6 for shorts, and $4 for shirts.
  5. ELEMENTARY: I have bee asked to provide some feedback on the tablet computers you were given last year.  Please e-mail me the following: Are you using it? Things you like?  Things you don’t like?
  6. Please consider contributing to this blog.  Ideas: great things in your classes, communications from parents, curriculum / pedagogy ideas, quotes, videos, etc.  Just email me and I’ll get you set up.

Today’s Classroom info-graph:

8things

I love this quote.  It reminds me of a day that I was tired and “going through the motions” introducing a lesson.  I said to myself, “I need to get my attitude right.  The kids are not connecting.”  This quote reminds me of that day.  Your energy inspires their energy.

energy

BIRTHDAYS:

September 26: Donna Rupp

September 26: Shane Griffiths

DEPARTMENT GOALS 2016-2017:

  1. To plan and teach at least one (1) student-centered lesson
  2. To have a social media presence professionally and participate in a twitter chat (Dept hashtag: #CVHPE).
One thought on “September 23, 2016

  1. It is pretty satisfying to have the kind of immediate feedback that Leslie got. I felt like mostly I only got feedback from my former students and their parents well after the year occurred. Sometimes I felt like I was investing in something I often times could never access… Thanks for sharing Leslie!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

